a painting, a pirate hat and a promiscuous night in Beijing

Written for Read Write Poem (http://readwritepoem.org) Prompt 3: ‘Play with your Pieces’. The pieces I chose were off my shelf: a painting (thanks Anna), a pirate hat (don’t ask)… and the ‘promiscuous night in Beijing’ was just a funny alliteration. 🙂 Here goes:


It was my first time,
And musing on the time I’d known
that straight, chocolate brown hair,
those tender, rose lips in the bed beside me
I couldn’t help but think that painting…
That painting I’d seen in my Pirate Hat days,
where I’d run from room to room, presumably
looting, searching for treasure. Most oft’, I’d find it
in the galley, but once, I found it
in a painting in the captain’s quarters of an allied ship. Shakespeare
would later call it “The Beast With Two Backs,”
but at the time, I just knew it as
‘A magic I didn’t understand’.

 In retrospect, it was something in their eyes,
and the way the skin around them moved, and creased,
and the way they all just fit together.
And musing upon the time I’d known
that straight, chocolate brown hair,
those tender, rose lips,
I knew I’d missed the girl.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “a painting, a pirate hat and a promiscuous night in Beijing”

  1. Kirra Says:

    You’re getting really good, Fabian.
    I’m quite proud of you.
    =)

  2. tiltillabulation Says:

    hi fabian
    look what you’ve done! 🙂

    i really like this bit:
    “In retrospect, it was something in their eyes,
    and the way the skin around them moved, and creased,
    and the way they all just fit together.”

  3. tiltillabulation Says:

    p.s it’s tilly … just in case you didn’t realise, hehe

  4. whypaisley Says:

    you did a really fine job with this prompt.. it was not one of my favorites.. in fact,, i threw something together at the last moment,, as i was quite lost in its meaning… you took a much more gallant approach,, and i like it……

    heres mine in case you haven’t seen it

    “trinity me”

  5. default « halftones Says:

    […] again (there’s only a few who know the story there… It’s the other half of where Read Write Prompt 3 led me. Somewhat deeper than the last. About sex and art and beauty and the way they’ve been […]

Leave a Reply

